Election of Chairperson

Basic Education

24 June 2014
Chairperson: Ms N Gina (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

The Portfolio Committee on Basic Education’s first meeting of the Fifth Democratic Parliament was convened to introduce the new Chairperson and Members and for formal adoption of the Committee programme. Ms N Gina (ANC) had been elected as the Committee Chairperson prior to the meeting time of 11am.

Meeting report

Ms N Gina (ANC) informed the Committee that she would be the Committee Chairperson and that the Committee Secretary, Mr Llewellyn Brown, would prepare the Committee in the lead up to the Extended Public Committee (EPC) debate on the Department of Basic Education Budget Vote on the 15 July 2014. The Committee’s Budget Vote report would need to be concluded by 11 July 2014.

Members introduced themselves in terms of their name, political party and home province. The Chairperson commented that the extent to which supporting Members and media were present at this first meeting was indicative of positive support for the Committee which would not want to let them or the children of the country down. Members congratulated Ms Gina on her election as Chairperson. The next Committee meeting would take place on the 1st of July 2014.

Members of the Portfolio Committee: Ms N Gina (ANC and Chairperson), Ms N Mpontshane (IFP), Mr H Khosa (ANC), Ms N Mashabela (EFF), Ms D Van Der Walt (DA), Ms A Lovemore (DA), Mr T Khoza (ANC), Ms C Majeke, (UDM)(ALT), Ms N Mokoto (ANC), Mr D Mnguni (ANC), Ms J Basson (ANC).

Mr M Mabika (NFP), Ms H Boshoff (DA, ALT), and Mr MNtshayisa (AIC) were not present.

Adoption of the Committee Programme
Mr Mnguni moved to adopt the Committee programme and was seconded by Ms Basson.

The meeting was adjourned.

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: