Electronic Communications Amendment Bill [B17-2013] 2013 and Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Amendment Bill [B18-2013]: Public Hearings

This premium content has been made freely available


02 October 2013
Chairperson: Mr S Kholwane (ANC)
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

PMG did not attend this meerting, as it was held outside of Parliament. However, the Committee Secretary has provided us with the relevant minutes of the meeting

Meeting report

African National Congress (ANC)
Kholwane, Mr SE (Chairperson)
Morutoa, Ms R
Tsebe, Ms S
Lesoma, Ms M*
Kekana, Mr D
Newhoudt-Druchen, Ms W
Ndlazi, Ms Z
Schneemann, Mr GD

Ms M Shinn (DA)
Mr A Steyn (DA)
Ms F Muthambi (ANC)
Ms L van der Merwe (IFP)

Parliamentary Support Staff:
Mr TK Ngoma, Committee Secretary
Ms T Sepanya, Committee Secretary
Mr S Nene, Committee Researcher
Mr M Maleka, Content Advisor
Mr G Mankay, Committee Assistant
Mr N Mjenxane, Legal Advisor
Dr B Loots, Legal Advisor

ANC Caucus Staff
Mr K Matlala – Assistant to Mr Kekana
Ms R Davids – Assistant to Ms Newhoudt-Druchen
Mr F Deysel – Assistant to Ms Newhoudt-Druchen


Department of Communications
Mr T Phiri – Deputy Director-General
Ms Z Xabadiya – Parliamentary Liaison Officer

Department of Justice
Mr M Ncolo, State Law Advisor

National Treasury
Mrs OY Groenewald – Senior Financial Analyst

1.         Opening and welcome
The Chairperson opened the meeting. He welcomed the members and everyone else in attendance.

2.         Presentation by various stakeholders on the Electronic Communications
Amendment Bill 2013 and the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Amendment Bill 2013

The following institutions made presentations to the Committee:
Cell C
Mobile Technology Network (MTN)
Deaf Federation of South Africa
Fibre Communications
Smile Communications

3.         Closing Remarks
The Chairperson thanked all stakeholders that made presentations to the Committee. The hearings will continue on 3 October 2013.

A full report on the public hearings will be presented to the Committee by the secretariat.

The meeting adjourned at 17:45

Mr SE Kholwane, MP
Chairperson: PC on Communications



No related


No related documents


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: