Joint Standing Committee on Defence Election of Chairperson


01 September 2009
Share this page:

Meeting Summary

In terms of  Joint Rule 120 (C), the Committee unanimously elected Ms H Mgabadeli (ANC) as Committee Chairperson.

Meeting report

Election of Chairperson

Ms Bulelwa Madikane, Committee Secretary, stated that the agenda of the meeting was to elect a Chairperson according to Joint Rule 120 (C)

Mr B Radebe (ANC) nominated Ms H Mgabadeli for the position of Chairperson.

Ms R Magau seconded the nomination.

In the absence of objections, Ms H C Mgabadeli (ANC) was elected as Chairperson of the Joint Standing Committee on Defence.

Mr T Mofokeng (ANC; Free State) nominated Mr D Montsitsi as Co-Chairperson of the Committee.

Ms Madikane informed him that the Joint Rules did not make provision for a Co-Chairperson.

Ms Mgabadeli thanked the Committee for the vote of confidence. She hoped for good co-operation and that the Committee could make a difference. She felt that the Joint Standing Committee on Defence should be open, strong and logical in taking the country forward.

The meeting was adjourned.


No related documents


  • We don't have attendance info for this committee meeting

Download as PDF

You can download this page as a PDF using your browser's print functionality. Click on the "Print" button below and select the "PDF" option under destinations/printers.

See detailed instructions for your browser here.

Share this page: