2020 Medium Term Budget Policy Statement (MTBPS)

Call for comments opened 28 October 2020 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 02 November 2020)

Finance Standing Committee

The Standing Committee on Finance and the Select Committee on Finance invite you to submit written submissions on the 2020 Medium Term Budget Policy Statement (MTBPS), tabled by the Minister of Finance, Mr Tito Mboweni, on 28 October 2020.
Minister Mboweni tabled the 2020 MTBPS before Parliament in terms of section 28 of the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA) 1 of 1999, which requires the Minister to table multi-year budget projections for revenue, expenditure and key macro-economic projections on an annual basis.
The Minister will also meet his obligation under section 6(1) of the Money Bills Amendment Procedure and Related Matters Act 9 of 2009, which requires of him to submit the MTBPS to Parliament.

Comments can be emailed to Mr Allen Wicomb at awicomb@parliament.gov.za and Ms Teboho Sepanya at tsepanya@parliament.gov.za (both Standing Committee on Finance) and Mr Nkululeko Mangweni at nmangweni@parliament.gov.za (Select Committee on Finance) by no later than 12:00 on Monday, 2 November 2020.

Those making submissions should also indicate on whether they are interested in making oral presentations.

The committees will hold virtual public hearings on Wednesday, 04 November 2020.
Enquiries can be directed to Mr Allen Wicomb on 083 412 1475, Ms Sepanya on 071 363 2349 and Mr Mangweni on  061 438 9448

Key Documents:

Minister’s Speech

Budget Documents

The Minister of Finance introduced the following accompanying Bills:

Second Adjustments Appropriation Bill

Rates and Monetary Amounts and Amendment of Revenue Laws Bill

Taxation Laws Amendment Bill

Tax Administration Laws Amendment Bill

Second Division of Revenue Amendment Bill

Copies of all key documents can also be found at: www.treasury.gov.za

Issued by Hon. J Maswanganyi, MP, Chairperson: Standing Committee on Finance (National Assembly) and Hon. YI Carrim, MP, Chairperson: Select Committee on Finance (National Council of Provinces).