2019 Revised Fiscal Framework and Revenue Proposals (MTBPS)

Call for comments opened 07 October 2019 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 05 November 2019)

Finance Standing Committee

The Standing Committee on Finance and the Select Committee on Finance invites you to submit written submissions on the 2019 Revised Fiscal Framework and Revenue Proposals (MTBPS) [see below] tabled on 30 October 2019.

The Minister of Finance (the Minister) tabled the 2019 Medium Term Budget Policy Statement (MTBPS) before Parliament on 30 October 2019. In tabling the MTBPS, the Minister met his obligation under section 28 of the Public Finance Management Act 1 of 1999 (PFMA) that requires the Minister to table multi-year budget projections for revenue, expenditure and key macro-economic projections on an annual basis. In addition to that, the Minister also met his obligation under section 6(1) of the Money Bills Amendment Procedure and Related Matters Act 9 of 2009 that requires the Minister to submit to Parliament the MTBPS.

Public hearings will be conducted at Parliament on Wednesday, 06 November 2019.

In addition to written comments, please indicated your interest in making oral presentation and must be received by no later than 12:00 on Tuesday, 05 November 2019.

Comments can be emailed to Mr Allen Wicomb at awicomb@parliament.gov.za and Mr Arico Kotze at akotze@parliament.gov.za and Mr Nkululeko Mangweni at nmangweni@parliament.gov.za by no later than 12:00 on Tuesday, 05 November 2019.

Enquiries can be directed to Mr Allen Wicomb on tel. (021) 403 3759 and Mr Arico Kotze on tel (021) 403 3662 or Mr Nkululeko Mangweni on tel (021) 403 3782

Key Documents:
The 2019 Adjusted Estimates of National Expenditure

2019 MTBPS 

The Minister of Finance introduced the following Bills in Parliament:

Division of Revenue Amendment Bill (B15-2019)
Adjustments Appropriation Bill (B16-2019)
Rates and Monetary Amounts and Amendment of Revenue Laws Bill (B17-2019)
Taxation Laws Amendment Bill (B18-2019)
Tax Administration Laws Amendment Bill (B19-2019) 

Copies of all key documents can also be found at: www.treasury.gov.za

Issued by Hon. J Maswanganyi, MP, Chairperson: Standing Committee on Finance (National Assembly) and Hon. YI Carrim, MP, Chairperson: Select Committee on Finance (National Council of Provinces).