Suitability of candidates for Deputy Public Protector

Call for comments opened 26 September 2019 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 16 October 2019)

Justice and Correctional Services

The Portfolio Committee on Justice and Correctional Services has called on the public to comment on the names of the nominees/applicants for the position of Deputy Public Protector.

The committee received 28 names by the end of the closing date.

Comments on the suitability of candidates must be submitted by no later than Wednesday, 16 October 2019 at 16h00. The shortlisted candidates will be subjected to a screening process.

Comments must be sent to Mr Vhonani Ramaano at

Enquiries can be made with Mr Ramaano, tel: (021) 403-3820, cell: 083 709 8427, email:

The candidates are:

Adv. Hendry Pietersen
Mr Sammy Tlhapi
Mr Graehymme Jesus Williams
Mr Phumzile Hubert Songo
Mr. Douglas Dumisani Soci
Mr. Victor Mavhidula
Ms. Hilda Harriet Seapei Mekwa
Mr. Daniel Aubrey Dibetso-Prince
Mr. Moshoeshoe Jeffrey Toba
Mr Johannes Collen Weapond
Adv. Kholeka Gcaleka
Ms Olwethu Majola-Kinyunyu
Mr Buang Jones
Mr Robert John McBride
Advocate Indhera Goberdhan
Adv. Zarina Kellerman
Adv. Sonwabile Mancotywa
Adv. Shadrack Nkuna
Adv. Noxolo Mbangeni
Adv. Loyiso Mpumlwana
Adv. Dinkie Portia Dube
Adv. Leanne Govindsamy
Mr Nkopane Josias Motshele
Adv. Shadrack Tebeile
Ms. Nobukhosi Thuli Mbatha
Adv. Fezeka Magano
Adv. Lwazi Pumelela Kubukeli
Adv. Puleng Matshelo