Nominations: ICASA councillors

Call for comments opened 06 September 2019 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 27 September 2019)

Communications and Digital Technologies

Institutions and/or individuals are hereby invited to nominate persons to fill five vacancies in the ICASA Council, as established in terms of the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Act, No. 13 of 2000 [as amended by Broadcasting Amendment Act, No 64 of 2002 and Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Amendment Act, No 2 of 2014]. Of the five vacancies, one will be filled immediately and the other four will be filled in April 2020 upon the expiry of term of four Councilors.

ICASA makes regulations and policies to govern broadcasting and telecommunications in the public interest, ensuring fairness and a diversity of views, and monitors the environment and enforce compliance with rules, regulations and policies, hears and decides on disputes and complaints by the industry, plans and manages the frequency spectrum and protects consumers from unfair business practices, poor quality services and harmful or inferior products.

Persons appointed to the Council must be committed to fairness, freedom of expression, openness and accountability and must be representative of a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic and possess suitable qualifications, expertise and experience in the fields of, amongst others,
• broadcasting,
• electronic communications and postal policy or operations,
• public policy development,
• electronic engineering,
• law,
• information technology,
• content in any form,
• consumer protection,
• education,
• economics,
• finance or any other related expertise or qualifications, and
• must be a South African citizen permanently residing in the Republic.

Written nominations must contain the full name and address of the institution and/or individual making the nomination, the nominee’s signed acceptance of the nomination and his/her Curriculum Vitae, providing at least the following information:
• Full name, ID number and gender
• Contact address, telephone and fax numbers and e-mail address
• Previous experience (quoting dates and organisations concerned)
• Certified copies of academic qualifications and identity document.

Nominations must be addressed to the Committee Secretary, Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma, at by no later than Friday, 27 September 2019 at 16:00.

Enquiries please contact Mr Thembinkosi Ngoma on tel (021) 403 3733 or cell 0837098407.
Closing date for nominations: Friday, 27 September 2019 at 16:00.

Please note that nominees will be subjected to a qualifications check and security clearance. Late submissions will not be considered.

Issued by Mr. BM Maneli, MP: Chairperson, PC on Communications.