IEC Commissioner candidates

Call for comments opened 21 August 2018 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 24 August 2018)

Home Affairs

The Portfolio Committee on Home Affairs invites you to comment on the eight candidates available for possible appointment as IEC Commissioners.

The decision was taken to enable a participatory process in line with the strategic objectives of the Fifth Parliament, to achieve a public participation-led parliament. "The IEC is at the centre of South Africa’s democratic dispensation and the Committee wishes to include South Africans, so their voices are heard,” said Mr Hlomani Chauke, the Committee Chairperson. The decision is intended to find consensus on the final candidates among South Africans, especially for an important institution such as the IEC.

Submissions can be emailed to Mr Eddie Mathonsi at by no later than Friday, 24 August 2018.
Enquiries can be directed to Mr Mathonsi on (021) 403 3826 or 083 709 8523

The eight shortlisted candidates are:    MVC / CASAC Research Report on 8 shortlisted candidates

  1. Rev Bongani Blessing Finca
  2. Ms Maletlatsa Monica Ledingwane
  3. Ms Nomonde Tantaswa Mapetla
  4. Dr Nomsa Praisy Masuku
  5. Mr Mosotho Simon Moepya
  6. Ms Bernedette Muthien
  7. Ms Liepollo Lebohang Watseba Pheko
  8. Judge Dhayanithie Pillay