Parliament on shortlisting of candidates for position of Inspector General of Intelligence

Call for comments opened 01 January 2015 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 02 March 2015)

Joint Standing on Intelligence

The Chairperson of the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence (JSCI), Ms Cornelia September, wishes to express the Committee’s appreciation to those people who submitted their applications for the position of the Inspector General of Intelligence.

The closing date for applications was 16 January 2015, and a number of applications have been received.

The JSCI resolved in terms of Rule 11 of the Rules of the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence to appoint a sub-committee to consider the applications. This panel met on 24 February 2015 in an open session, and has submitted its recommendations to the Committee.

The Committee has considered the sub-committee’s recommendations and the applications in accordance with the Intelligence Services Oversight Act 40 of 1994 (the Act) and the Rules of the Committee, and wishes to announce that the following candidates have been shortlisted, subject to a pre-screening process prior to the interviews being held:

1.             Cecil Valentine Burgess

2.             Clinton Paul Davids

3.             Mathe Matthews Diseko

4.             Imtiaz Fazel

5.             Advocate Jayashree Govender

6.             Smanga Phillip Jele

7.             Andile Barnabas Kilifele and

8.              Mampogoane Petrus Nchabaleng.

The Chairperson extended the Committee’s invitation to members of the public and all interested parties to submit their comments on the shortlisted persons to the Committee for its consideration. These may be submitted to Ntombe Mbuqe at [email protected] on or before 12h00 on Monday 2 March 2015.


Faith Kwaza
Tel: 021 403 8062
Cell: 0813770686
E-mail: [email protected]