Inspector-General of Intelligence Vacancy: call for public input on shortlisted candidates

Call for comments opened 04 December 2021 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 05 January 2022)

Joint Standing on Intelligence

The Chairperson of the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence (JSCI), Mr Jerome Maake, wishes to express the committee’s appreciation for the applications received for the position of the Inspector-General of Intelligence.

The closing date for applications was 30 September 2021 and a number of applications were received.

The committee has considered the applications in accordance with the Intelligence Services Oversight Act 40 of 1994 (the Act) and the committee’s rules, and wishes to announce that the following candidates have been shortlisted.

  1. Frank Chikane
  2. Setlhomamaru Isaac Dintwe
  3. Nomsa Evelyn Dlamini
  4. Imtiaz Ahmed Fazel
  5. Phumzile Fongoqa
  6. Jayashree Govender
  7. Smanga Phillip Jele
  8. Faith Mosa Makhobotloane
  9. Mampogoane Petrus Nchabaleng
  10. Nyelisani Clarence Tshitereke

The CVs of the shortlisted candidates will be uploaded on Parliament’s website in accordance with the Protection of Personal Information Act (POPIA). The committee invites members of the public and all interested parties to submit their comments on the shortlisted candidates to it for consideration. These should be submitted to Ms Alutho Sombexe at by no later than Wednesday5 January 2022

Issued by Parliamentary Communication Services on behalf of the Chairperson of the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence, Mr Jerome Maake.