NLC Chairperson Vacancy: Public Input on shortlisted candidates

Call for comments opened 26 February 2021 Share this page:

Submissions are now closed (since 08 March 2021)

Trade, Industry and Competition

The Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry responsible for making a recommendation to the Minister of Trade and Industry with regard to the position of Chairperson of the Board of the National Lotteries Commission, calls for public comments on the shortlisted candidates.

A list of nominated candidates was referred by the Speaker of the National Assembly to the Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry after she had received a letter from the Minister of Trade and Industry nominating candidates for the position and requesting the relevant Committee to make a recommendation. 

The eight shortlisted candidates are the Rev F Chikane, Ms B Fergusan, Mr T Dlamini, Dr M Madzivhandila, Dr N Pityana, Mr A Trikamjee, Mr T Tselane and Mr G Xaba.

 Dr B Pityana
 Dr MA Madzivhandila
 Mr AH Trikamjee
 Mr G Xaba
 Mr T Tselane
 Mr TTC Dlamini
 Mrs B Ferguson
 Rev F Chikane

The committee is calling on everyone who wishes to submit comments on the candidates to forward written submissions to the Committee Secretaries, Mr A Hermans on or Mr T Madima at The deadline for submissions is Monday, 8 March 2021

The names of the shortlisted candidates will be security vetted and the names of the shortlisted candidates will be published for public comment. Thereafter, the committee will proceed with interviews of the shortlisted candidates.

Committee Chairperson, Mr Duma Nkosi emphasised that the committee will do everything in its power to ensure that the process remains open and transparent, and that due process is followed. The Committee intends to finalise its recommendation(s) to the Minister by March 2021.